Things I Learned from Carrie Bradshaw

I would be lying if I said that this whole blog was not an attempt for me to find my inner New York City socialite portrayed by the ultimate single girl, Carrie B. For fifteen years, SATC has been a lifeline to women, and a menace to the men that love them, and the men who do them wrong. I get it, it’s cliche to live your life via a fictional HBO drama, however, I feel as though college women today could all learn a lesson from the fabulous Bradshaw.

Image
Boys, boys, college boys. As CB has said, “maybe all men are a drug. Sometimes they bring you down and sometimes, like now, they get you so high.” I do not know if it is the realization that marriage isn’t as far away as it was in middle school, or the rebellious streak resulting from leaving the parents’ nest. Nonetheless when Carrie said this, she must have been reflecting on her college days. In a world driven by technology, my friends and I could find out a young man’s major, where he’s from, what he did in high school, his plans for the weekend, his last three girlfriends, and what our kids would like before we even speak to him during our 8 am history class. There is something entirely unique about the college dating world: it is truly a time for young women to reflect and find themselves.

“Being single used to mean that nobody wanted you. Now it means you’re pretty sexy and you’re taking your time deciding how you want your life to be and who you want to spend it with.”

And there’s no better time than now to do exactly that…

I cannot even begin to count the number of times I have heard some rendition of, college is when you find your bridesmaids. In fact, one of my best friends, Rachel, said that exact thing to me today. That is one cliche that is unbelievably accurate.

“They say nothing lasts forever; dreams change, trends come and go, but friendships never go out of style.”

I have been a counselor and been counseled. I have made countless late night run to McDonalds, Whataburger, and Katie’s Custard. Well, hello freshman fifteen. More pictures were taken than my Instagram knew what to do with. Luckily enough, I created a support system of girls that have my back through everything from the Finals Week Breaks Ups (did I just say that) to the laughter that always seems to merge itself into our conversations.  As I prepare to continue my journey into sophomore year, I am having the time of my life with the ladies I love the most.
“I like my money where I can see it – hanging in my closet.”
Need I say more? Sarah Jessica Parker’s character is truly a woman that eats, sleeps, and breathes fashion. It’s a little bit too easy to lose my style in the land of oversized sorority t-shirts and leggings I call my closest.  Some days, however, dressing to impress is a necessity. (Dress well, test well…am I right?) And the truth is… I don’t think I can pull off the grunge look in a high rise office. Note to self: do not set my alarm for 8:50 when I have class at 9:05. BUT GIRLZ, fashion is fun! It is our duty to embrace it, just as my friend Carrie so absolutely has.
So that pretty much sums it up: men, girl friends, fashion and most importantly LOVING YOURSELF… That is what this whole blog of mine is about. I will leave you with one final thought going out to all my ladies..
“But the most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you can find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous.”
And that just a little something I’m working on..
 Untitled
P.S. Ladies, take some advice from my muse, “beauty is fleeting, but a rent-controlled apartment overlooking the park is forever.” And that apartment belongs to you, you, you. Oh, and your landlord of course.

2 thoughts on “Things I Learned from Carrie Bradshaw

Leave a comment